Feyisayo

Its about human contact…

I WOKE UP LIKE THIS…

We all have flaws – yes, including me. I’m sure that might come as a surprise to some, but I’m actually not ***flawless.

We live in a very flawed world. It doesn’t take a philosopher or theologian to figure that out. Even at its simplest level, everything about our society is flawed. However, society wasn’t designed that way.

For example, let’s take the two events that have taken over the news this past week, without getting too detailed:

Following the tragic shooting in Charleston, the focus turned to the Confederate flag and its representation.

The Supreme Court declared same-sex marriage legal in all 50 states.

Regardless of how you feel about these topics, the biggest proponent of debate is perception. How one perceives these subjects ultimately determines his or her outlook on how everyone else perceives them.

Perception is reality, but it’s unfortunate that our free will of thinking consequently can be our biggest downfall.

America was built on the principles of freedom; however, we as humans have corrupted that and turned it into a negative.

Perception is a flaw that humanity intuitively suffers from.

We often subconsciously associate different materialistic items with economic or social status. I guess we have Sesame Street to blame for our lapse in association.

“One of these things is not like the other… ” (If you didn’t get the reference, you’re probably too young or the joke wasn’t funny.)

At any rate, we live in a millennial era where our lives are governed by what we do/don’t have. Growing up in a middle-class household, I had the privilege of experiencing both. By middle-class, I mean in the literal sense – we weren’t rich or poor.

However, why is it that we measure “success” in life by economic or social status?

I’m just as guilty as everyone in this generation when it comes to forming preconceived notions about someone based off what they’re wearing, for example. I’d like to think that I don’t, but I think it’s humanly impossible not to. I’ll even go so far as to say that based on these notions/judgements, we subconsciously rank someone “better” or “worse” than us.

I’m not saying one shouldn’t aspire to be financially secure or want to be able to buy nice things, but when making more money than someone is used as a means to belittle them, therein lies a problem. (I’m not talking about flaming your friend for rockin’ Team Jordan’s either; I feel like there’s a fine line between joking and being malicious.)

Don’t get me wrong, “successful” and “wealthy” are two words that I dream to be, but I also realize that everyone who may drive a 2015 Audi R8 or live in a 3,000 square-foot house isn’t happy. My mom always said, “You don’t know how they got that or what they may have going on behind closed doors.”

Which segues back to my original point, perception is a concept that society has misconstrued into a flaw.

In my short, 21 almost 22 years of living, I’ve realized that the majority of the people who use financial or social status to intentionally cut someone down are either envious or unhappy. I’m no psychologist nor am I a millionaire, I’m just speaking from my experiences and what I know about their situation.

There’s no remedy for this problem, perception is a phenomenon that’s inevitable. Like I said, we all have flaws – the world we live in has been, is, and will be flawed.

At the end of the day, live your life, don’t try to compare it to someone else’s, and don’t look down on someone else because their life isn’t on par with yours.

“There’s no script to life, just live it to the fullest.”

Stay woke.

*Exits podium*

We all have flaws, yet we should not let these flaws define us or hold us back. Rather than dwelling on what someone isn’t doing right or focusing on their downfalls, look at their positives. Like I said, don’t compare your life with that of the next person. We were created differently and put on our personal journey for a reason.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

